St Andrew's C of E (VA) Primary

Close
CLOSE

Year 6 blog

Show list Show Grid
  • Wednesday 28 April 2021 PHILOSOPHY FOR THINKING We are becoming great philosophers, thinkers and debaters in Year 6. Some children in the class brought in some interesting news stories to display on our News Board and we have all responded with a comment or a question. Then we considered what big issues of life the stories addressed and we wrote some philosophy questions. We selected the question: Why do some groups of people have power over others? to discuss in our philosophy circle.
  • Friday 23 April 2021 BATTLE OF THE BEAKS As we have been learning about evolution and inheritance, we have discussed Darwin's voyage on the HMS Beagle and his key observations. This includes all the different specimens of Finch that he collected from the Galapagos Islands.
  • Tuesday 20 April 2021 YEAR 6 ART EXHIBITION The Big ART EXHIBITION  was a very creative, and rewarding project for Year 6. The inspiration for our art work came from a set of 9 oil panels painted by Darvish Fakhr of an Indian dance called Akram Khan. Each pose represents different emotion. 
  • Tuesday 30 March 2021 RE WEEK - HINDUSIM in Year 6 We have had a really interesting and creative few days in Year 6 learning about Hinduism. We carried out some research into the key ideas, beliefs and practices. We explored the way in which Hindus worship and created some shrines to the different Gods, representing elements of Puja using natural resources.
  • Friday 26 March 2021 STEM WEEK IN YEAR 6 We were so happy to see each other when everyone returned to school and what a week we had exploring STEM investigations and reflecting on our attributes as scientists.
  • Tuesday 8 December 2020 YEAR 6 PERFORMS THE LIVING NATIVITY Our wonderful Year 6 class showed great performance skills today when they delivered six separate performances of 'The Living Nativity'. We had actors, singers and musicians who created a promenade theatre experience for the rest of the school to meet the characters and hear the story of Christmas. Here is the Angel Gabriel giving Mary her message from God.
  • Tuesday 27 October 2020 Year 6 War and Remembrance Poetry To finish our work on World War 2, we have been reading some inspiring War poetry from both the first and the second world war. We then wrote our own poems concentrating on selecting vocabulary to create powerful imagery and trying out figurative language such as metaphors and personification. We then edited our poems and used Windows photo story to set our poems to a background of images and music (credit to Bensound.com). 
  • Tuesday 6 October 2020 WORLD WAR II NEWS REPORTERS We have discovered that Year 6 are all budding news reporters! On finding out about the Evacuation from Dunkirk they held a press conference during which the posed challenging questions to a returning soldier, Winston Churchill, a brave fisherman and members of the public. They then worked incredibly hard on producing some outstanding news reports with a good depth of detail, dramatic language and a an appropriate style. This was a big project! Well done Year 6!
  • Tuesday 23 June 2020 SPIRALS SPIRALS!
  • Monday 8 June 2020 The Green Man
  • Sunday 24 May 2020 What are you reading?
  • Thursday 7 May 2020 ESCAPE TO SPACE STEM COMPETITION
  • Friday 1 May 2020 Let's dream of coasts!
  • Friday 24 April 2020 Japanese Notan Art
  • Thursday 9 April 2020 Virtual Passover Ceremony Virtual Passover Seder
  • Tuesday 24 March 2020 GET THOSE CARDS OUT!
  • Monday 23 March 2020 WHO'S WHO?
  • Tuesday 3 March 2020 Lung Capacity Experiments
  • Thursday 13 February 2020 Creating Mandalas
  • Friday 31 January 2020 EXPLORING DIFFUSION AND OSMOSIS
  • Friday 17 January 2020 Blood Smoothies
  • Friday 13 December 2019 CHRISTMAS UNWRAPPED WITH PHASE
  • Monday 2 December 2019 Potato Contour lines
  • Monday 18 November 2019 MODELLING MOUNTAINS
  • Monday 18 November 2019 Year 6 Family Scavenger Hunt
  • Wednesday 16 October 2019 Visit to the Imperial War Museum
  • Wednesday 16 October 2019 World War 2 Bake Off!
  • Friday 4 October 2019 Fermentation in Year 6
  • Friday 20 September 2019 Classifying in Science
  • View archived news items

Subscribe to our news as an RSS feed